Page 6 of 6

How to upgrade to a 91+ dash

Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 10:21 pm
by 93gt--z
(scott91gtz @ Mar. 24 2006,21:47)
Q
U
O
T
E
i have a 89 gt, with door panels falling off. i also have a 93 gt , an i want to put those door panels in the 89. is it a big job to do so? also the 93 has manual windows, an the 89 auto... can i switch manual to auto?

the 93 panels will not fit in(they will hit the end of the dash when closing doors), unless you swap the dashboard too...they will also have to be modded extensively to fit the door mounted belts apposed to the pillar mounted belts that the 93 would have.

If you ask me, you best bet is to either get 94+ panels, which will require less work to fit the belts into(94-96 were door mounted belts too), or just swap your whole 93 doors, and convert the 89 to pillar mounted seat belts.

Depending what you do there will decide the window thing...but yes, it's possibly to add power windows to a manual window car.

How to upgrade to a 91+ dash

Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 6:38 pm
by scott91gtz
crap that sucks. i guess ill look around for the 94+ door panels and figure it out from there. thanks for the info though.. you saved me a bit of work.

How to upgrade to a 91+ dash

Posted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 10:16 pm
by 93gt--z
Anyone have a write-up on swapping columns? I just finished my second successful dash swap, now just gotta throw in the new column. :banana

How to upgrade to a 91+ dash

Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:45 am
by weba
(93gt--z @ Mar. 24 2006,23:21)
Q
U
O
T
E
and convert the pillar mounted seat belts.

I have explored this option, it will require cutting thru the car body.. but i may still have to do it :(

How to upgrade to a 91+ dash

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 1:35 pm
by Conscious
Have any of you run into the problem of gauges running all over the place? I have done this swap '88 to '91+. RPM, speedometer etc just has a mind of its own, when I turn on the light it is even worse. V6 btw

How to upgrade to a 91+ dash

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 2:48 pm
by Chris88CL
You have some wires mixed up then or a ground issue.
Double check everything.  Do one gauge at a time.

How to upgrade to a 91+ dash

Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 5:21 pm
by weba
Has anyone got the new power window switch working with the newer style console swap? I tryied to color match mine but did not work..
Tryied different combinations on wiring and managed to get drivers window moving up from left switch and down from right switch... confusing.

I have the 91 factory manual, but not the 90 to check for different wires  :(

edit: okay i found the righ way, for some reason mine did not colour match like they should be:

90 wiring | new switch
DK BLU               C
BRN                    A
BLK                     D
BLU\WHT            G
TAN                    F
PNK                    B





Re: How to upgrade to a 91+ dash

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:44 pm
by apay
Yes I know there swap for cluster I have ways around that but will the headlight wiring be the same

Re: How to upgrade to a 91+ dash

Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 11:12 pm
by speedy
holy hell old thread from the dead... someone robbed the reaper!

Re: How to upgrade to a 91+ dash

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 12:35 pm
by Rodville
apay wrote:Yes I know there swap for cluster I have ways around that but will the headlight wiring be the same


If you are asking if the headlight plugs are the same from the 87-90 to the 91+ no they are not the same. The correct way to wire them is in this thread. I know as I have used this thread for a guide when I put a 91+ dash in my 1990.

And....
Image

Re: How to upgrade to a 91+ dash

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:28 pm
by apay
i mean will the wiring swap for the head light switch still work

Re: How to upgrade to a 91+ dash

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:39 pm
by Rodville
Why wouldn't it?