my rant

If there isn't a place for your question then put it here.

my rant

Post by Guest »

I am a full time student and an amateur "roll around in the dirt driveway" mechanic. I got this 93' base model blue Beretta, 3.1 and 3T40 tranny, in Dec. 2003 for $1500. It had 154K on it then, now it has 190K. Through this car I've become an OK home mechanic, but I've also learned to hate and loathe my car, for every problem I fix, 2-3 more pop up. Anyway, here's a rant to nobody in particular about the good, but mostly bad things about my car. This car has been to a mechanic only once since I've owned it, not counting tire replacements, and even then he only charged me $10 because the problem I took it in for magically evaporated when he went to fix it ( a fuel leak at the rail inlet, it doesn't leak now but i smell gas in and under the car sometimes )

PROS:
-running on Mobil1 Synthetic 5W-30 for the last 3 oil changes and Mobil1 Synthetic ATF for last 2 tranny fluid/filter changes
-new Rapidfire plugs, new Delco wireset, plenum cleaned, TB cleaned, IAC cleaned, EGR cleaned, coils and injectors tested, thermostat replaced, water pump top gasket replaced, coolant flushed, TB coolant bypassed, power steering pressure hose replaced (it burst at the point where it bends 2 years ago), 94a poly treatment on motor mount and torque strut, front valve cover gasket and oil pump drive shaft o-ring oil leaks successfully fixed, rotors-pads-calipers new 1 year ago, soon to install new control arm assemblies on both sides with poly on the sway bar and a strut tower brace, fuel filter done last year, cone filter installed, full gauge cluster installed, new exhaust system 2 years ago, front Monroe "Quick-Struts" and rear KYB Gas-A-Justs with new mounts installed 2 years ago

CONS: