Page 1 of 1

1991 Gauge Cluster vs. 1995 Gauge Cluster

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 11:07 pm
by dezenzerrick
Hi All,

Looking to do a gauge cluster swap from base to the Z26 or GTU (something with a tachometer).
I'm not really able to find a 94-95 available, but I noticed that the 91 looks very similar to the 95 both physically, in the way they mount up, and the electrical connector looks the same. Does anyone have a wiring diagram for the 91? Just as a comparison, I have a couple of photos as well of the rear of each cluster, attached below.

Thanks!

95 base:
95 base cluster.jpg


91 w/ Tach
91 cluster.jpg

Re: 1991 Gauge Cluster vs. 1995 Gauge Cluster

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 1:28 pm
by themixer
you need the full cluster from 94-95 its obd 1.5. Someone on this board must have one they can sell you!

Re: 1991 Gauge Cluster vs. 1995 Gauge Cluster

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:08 pm
by woody90gtz
I don't think he does. I replaced my partially dead 91 cluster with the one out of my 95 and it was a direct swap. That's opposite from a 91 cluster in a 95, but I think it would be fine.

Re: 1991 Gauge Cluster vs. 1995 Gauge Cluster

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:02 am
by themixer
give it a rip and see what happens!

Re: 1991 Gauge Cluster vs. 1995 Gauge Cluster

Posted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 6:12 pm
by JeffD
I just removed my 94 cluster for a digital panel swap.

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

Re: RE: Re: 1991 Gauge Cluster vs. 1995 Gauge Cluster

Posted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 6:13 pm
by JeffD
JeffD wrote:I just removed my 94 cluster for a digital panel swap. It's for sale, pm me if interested.

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk




Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

Re: 1991 Gauge Cluster vs. 1995 Gauge Cluster

Posted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 7:55 pm
by dezenzerrick
Thanks! I'll let you guys know how it goes. I've managed to find a few 91's on the web, they are rare but still around.
Worst comes to worst, I can always sell the gauge cluster I bought if it doesn't work!

Re: 1991 Gauge Cluster vs. 1995 Gauge Cluster

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 9:36 am
by 3X00-Modified
The only year specific cluster is 96, and you can actually use a older cluster in the 96 if you really needed to... you would just have to re-wire the Tach signal to come from the ICM and not the ECU.