90 GTZ and digital cluster question.

If there isn't a place for your question then put it here.
User avatar
GT_Indy
Registered User
Posts: 555
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 2:23 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

90 GTZ and digital cluster question.

Postby GT_Indy » Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:50 pm

Did the 90 GTZ with the quad4 and 5 spd ever come with a digital cluster?

I have a spare digital cluster from a 1990 Indy, and the harness. I was considering seeing if I can do a digital cluster swap on my Minty white GTZ with the euro lights.


96 Beretta Z26 swap
90 Beretta GTZ
90 Beretta Indy

User avatar
Cliff8928
Administrator
Posts: 1774
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 10:03 pm
Location: Long Grove, IL
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Re: 90 GTZ and digital cluster question.

Postby Cliff8928 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:33 am

No, only the 88-90 V6 was available with the digital cluster. It's likely that the Quad4 ECM does not output the proper serial data for the digital gauges.


Cliff Scott
Image

User avatar
GT_Indy
Registered User
Posts: 555
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 2:23 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: 90 GTZ and digital cluster question.

Postby GT_Indy » Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:13 pm

I have the tools to modify the v6 code for the 27SF512 chips which run in the 1227730 ECM.

It would be easiest to import the Quad's tables into the v6 BIN and switch it to the I4 mode, however I don't know how different the QUAD is compared to the I4, I know it has a large single spark module and DOHC, but I don't know if the spark module is waste spark or if anything else is different enough that it won't work.

I can also use a HEX viewer and try importing the output signal code into the QUAD's BIN manually, although it would take me a lot longer to do, the other way is easier.


96 Beretta Z26 swap
90 Beretta GTZ
90 Beretta Indy


Return to “General Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests