Subs and amps

For all those little gadgets that make driving your car more fun and convienent. Big subs, screaming tweets? Got an amp that's on the way out? Need some recommendations? Then this is the place to ask.
HateMyAuto

Subs and amps

Post by HateMyAuto »

I have a couple more questions, probably won't be my last...

The recomended wire gauge for my amp is 6 to 18, would running 4 gauge wire to it cause any problems?

Would hooking up an 8 ohm impedance to an output that normally handles 4 ohms create any more problems than just lowering the wattage?

I'm stuck on deciding whether or not I should get a 10" or 12" sub. I've heard the 10" subs offer more "punch" while 12" subs offer more "boom." I'm really just wondering what other people have and looking for suggestions.

Thanks a lot in advace, and patience please, I'm still learning...

'96 Z26 Now with 10% more displacement
'94 Camaro
wicked-irocz

Subs and amps

Post by wicked-irocz »

there is no problem with running lower gauge wire and I havent yet found an amp that had problems with higher impendence.  I prefer 12" subs as they give more thumb I guess you could say.  Sub size is definatly an individual preference.  People who like rap mostly tend to like 10" because they are lighter generally and react quicker.

94 Beretta Z26 57,4xx miles
3100, auto, crank windows, power locks/trunk, A/C,
To many mods to list
-intercooler :shock:

Among beretta boards
1st Turbo 4t60-e
1st Turbo 3100
1st Turbo Z26
1st 94+ Turbo
HateMyAuto

Subs and amps

Post by HateMyAuto »

Thanks. I thougth that it was the case with the larger wire and higher impedance, just didn't want to test it out myself.

'94 Camaro
BerettaLove32

Subs and amps

Post by BerettaLove32 »

I listen to all rap and I've always had 12s and they have all sounded real good. Are you lookign for SQ or SPL?

HateMyAuto

Subs and amps

Post by HateMyAuto »