Odometer Swap

Keep this to general Beretta/Board/Community topics.
KennethO
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:00 pm

Odometer Swap

Postby KennethO » Wed Sep 07, 2011 6:58 pm

Finally found a 95 full cluster and need to swap the odom. The old link seems to be broken. Anyone have the new one?

Thanks.



User avatar
keiffith
Registered User
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:44 pm

Re: Odometer Swap

Postby keiffith » Wed Sep 07, 2011 7:11 pm

As in your not sure how to do it? Its easy. Take the instument bezel off by the 6 screws below the controls and there's 4 small screws holding the cluster to the dash.


Image

73 Yamaha RD250 The Real Fun
99 Cherokee manual 2 door Beater
92 3.1 auto base other Beater
92 3.1 manual base 190k The "nice" one
93 3.1 auto base 275k RIP

CPL, USMC, Veteran/2111

KennethO
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:00 pm

Odometer Swap

Postby KennethO » Wed Sep 07, 2011 8:09 pm

I know how to remove the cluster and everything from the car. All the plastic covers and all too.

I mean the odometer reel. Do you swap over just the shaft with the numbers or do you do the whole little assembly? The bracket that has a tiny electric motor on it and the shaft with the numbers.

Afraid if I pop just the shaft out and clip it onto the new bracket that it will trip and ruin the odometer. I want to keep the correct mileage.

This part. (off of a spare I had)
Image
Image

If I can't pull the reel off by its self then I would have to transfer the mileage trip parts over.
Image



KennethO
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:00 pm

Odometer Swap

Postby KennethO » Wed Sep 07, 2011 8:30 pm

Or does it only trip when this white piece is broken or removed?
Image

Current mileage.
Image



User avatar
Barry
Global Moderator
Posts: 1855
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:11 pm
Location: Hatfield Pa
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Odometer Swap

Postby Barry » Wed Sep 07, 2011 9:31 pm

It only gets messed up when the white strip is broken or pulled off. Just swap rolls



User avatar
daguse5853z
Registered User
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 7:35 pm
Location: Central, PA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Odometer Swap

Postby daguse5853z » Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:05 am

its relatively easy to do. sucks the links don't work. i popped the roll off and swapped it



User avatar
95BerettaBase
Registered User
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:36 am
Location: St. Charles, Michigan
Contact:

Re: Odometer Swap

Postby 95BerettaBase » Thu Sep 08, 2011 9:14 am

I did the same with mine. Took me about 20 minutes or so. I still can't believe I didn't screw the mileage up.


-1995 Chevy Beretta Base *SOLD*
-1998 Chevy Silverado 4x4
-2016 Chevy Silverado Z71
-2014 Harley Davidson Street Glide


1995 Chevy Beretta Base - 3100 V6 w/ 284,000 and still kickin'.

User avatar
3X00-Modified
Administrator
Posts: 10664
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Plainfield CT
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: Odometer Swap

Postby 3X00-Modified » Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:05 am

95BerettaBase wrote:I did the same with mine. Took me about 20 minutes or so. I still can't believe I didn't screw the mileage up.


Unless you pop off that plastic thing on the back its hard to screw it up, even with it off its somewhat trivial on which way you need to spin it to make the numbers change.

I set the one in my red car down to 0 the first time I did my engine rebuild. I left it alone in the pink car when I put the full cluster in, so that is true mileage on that car, which I guess is really irrelevant since nothing drive line wise is left from the original setup.



KennethO
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:00 pm

Re: Odometer Swap

Postby KennethO » Thu Sep 08, 2011 1:02 pm

Whats the best way to realign the speed needle when you remove it? Or is it self calibrating? Kind of hard to get a pen in there to mark the shaft. So I haven't removed it yet. GPS the only way?



User avatar
3X00-Modified
Administrator
Posts: 10664
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Plainfield CT
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: Odometer Swap

Postby 3X00-Modified » Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:01 pm

with the key on not moving it should be about the same distance (lower) from the 5mph mark as the distance between the 5mph and 10mph tick... thats about as good as I could get it and I was within 2mph IIRC...

So yes you need to put the cluster in with the front plastic shield off so you can set the needle with the ignition on.



KennethO
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:00 pm

Re: Odometer Swap

Postby KennethO » Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:28 pm

Thanks.

And the Oil pressure with the car on? It went way past the oil bucket icon when turned on. Thinking I might have moved it.



User avatar
3X00-Modified
Administrator
Posts: 10664
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Plainfield CT
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: Odometer Swap

Postby 3X00-Modified » Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:29 pm

yeah same deal, that should be at 0 with the ignition on... The only hard ones to set are the fuel and battery if you removed those...



KennethO
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:00 pm

Re: Odometer Swap

Postby KennethO » Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:42 pm

Nope, those seem to be fine.



KennethO
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:00 pm

Re: Odometer Swap

Postby KennethO » Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:59 pm

Whats the average oil pressure for a v6 retta?
Set the oil pressure to zero with the key on. Once running the gauge still goes to the oil can picture. I highly doubt my pressure is that high. Faulty motor on the needle? or oil pressure sensor?



User avatar
3X00-Modified
Administrator
Posts: 10664
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Plainfield CT
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: Odometer Swap

Postby 3X00-Modified » Thu Sep 08, 2011 3:10 pm

Did you put in a sensor for a gauge? or do you still have the sensor in there thats specific for the light aka non full cluster. If you did not swap sensors and just did the cluster, you need to get the analog oil pressure sender, not the digital one.




Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests