Help with 96 guage cluster swap

Frequently Asked Questions
Guest

Help with 96 guage cluster swap

Postby Guest » Sat May 17, 2003 4:17 am

i recencently swapped my std 96 cluster to an upgraded 95 cluster they are both for l body and obdII, I changed the oil pressure sensor and all gauges work except for the tach. from what i can tell from the chilton's manual on 96 3100 the tach signal wire goung to the gauge cluster should be white, and either from the PCM of the DIS. the wire in my car is purple?
has anyone performed this swap on a 96 , maybe the tach is bad? or does anyone know f the tach signal to the dash is a digital sig, pulsing grnd, +, ect.... I tested for the above with a DVM and found nothing> Help ??? ???  ???  ???



User avatar
Canada
Registered User
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2002 12:59 pm
Location: Elkhart, Iowa
Contact:

Help with 96 guage cluster swap

Postby Canada » Sat May 17, 2003 4:02 pm

Are you positive the donor car was OBD-II? Because mine came from a 96 and worked just fine.



-2007 Saturn Sky Redline
-2007 Chevrolet Silverado Classic 2500HD
-2006 Chevrolet Impala SS
-1996 Chevrolet Camaro Z28
-1996 Chevrolet Beretta

Guest

Help with 96 guage cluster swap

Postby Guest » Sat May 17, 2003 8:06 pm

ya, its definately obdII



Guest

Help with 96 guage cluster swap

Postby Guest » Thu May 22, 2003 12:43 am

Like Canada said it should work fine.

Are you near Montreal? If you are then you can come over and we can swap and see, it takes so little time.



Guest

Help with 96 guage cluster swap

Postby Guest » Thu May 22, 2003 1:32 pm

See Chris, the mod of this setion, he started a topic about this sometime ago. If memory serves me correctly, something is different or didn't work right between a 95 and a 96 cluster.






Guest

Help with 96 guage cluster swap

Postby Guest » Wed Jun 04, 2003 2:53 am

i get the mitchell on demand system for automotive repairs and the wiring diagram for the 95 corsica/beretta has a white wire from the ignition module on terminal C to the gauge cluster for tach signal. The 96 doesnt, im going to assume i need to add a wire from the ignition module terminal c to tach and see if the cluster works. ill keep you posted




User avatar
wht96
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 8:58 am
Location: Tamaqua, Pa
Contact:

Help with 96 guage cluster swap

Postby wht96 » Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:08 pm

i did the same thing and really want to get this puppy to work. what was the update does anyone know where this was "moved" to



User avatar
6r8ph1X
Registered User
Posts: 357
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:07 pm
Location: Beavercreek, Ohio
Contact:

Help with 96 guage cluster swap

Postby 6r8ph1X » Wed Feb 27, 2008 3:36 pm

If anyone hasn't figured it out already, if you have a 96 and you are upgrading to an older than 96 cluster, you need to take the wire from pin 9 on your ECM and pull it through the fire wall, into the engine compartment. Next, look for the 6 pin connector on your your coil packs. This is your ICM plug. Take the little rubber plug out of pin "C" on your ICM plug, and either get a pin out of a donor ICM plug from the junk yard or somewhere else and connect that wire you pulled out to the pin and put it into pin "C" of the ICM plug. This SHOULD be how you get the tach to work if it is not a 96 cluster. This is all explained in the Obd2 swap guide on bstuff.com. I just tried to simplify it, the original guide was alittle more confusing.

good luck!



1993 Beretta GT, FX Designs Body Kit, Ram Air hood, 3.1 MPFI 3 Speed, 90,000 miles
1996 Beretta Base, GTU conversion, 3400sfi with less than 100,000 miles :)   ==  Traded

User avatar
steve3408
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:45 pm

Help with 96 guage cluster swap

Postby steve3408 » Wed Apr 09, 2008 1:34 pm

Isnt 1995 actually a OBD I (sort of OBD  I 1/2)?
:)







User avatar
3X00-Modified
Administrator
Posts: 10664
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Plainfield CT
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Help with 96 guage cluster swap

Postby 3X00-Modified » Wed Apr 09, 2008 1:43 pm

Yeah... whats your point though?




Return to “FAQ”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests