Page 1 of 1

Switch from maf to iat?

Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2003 7:29 pm
by Guest
hey i have a 2.8 manual with the maf (mass air flow sensor) and i was just wondering if it was possible to change that sensor to the iat (intake air temp). I'm looking intot his because the maf restricts a lot of air flow so i was just wondering if this is possible thanks in advance,
warren

Switch from maf to iat?

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2003 12:02 am
by wicked-irocz
if you want higher flow without the pain of switching to iat you could get a big bore throttle body from http://www.mantapart.com/  or FDP http://www3.sympatico.ca/fjpeters/ or http://rsmracing.com/beretta.htm




Switch from maf to iat?

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2003 2:20 am
by TurboGTU
The only real ristriction I see is the screen on the maf. You could physicly remove it to try and improve on air flow. But that might deminish the air hitting the maf heat element since that screen was ment to guide the air to the heat element.

Your best bet would be the stock paper air filter which is a big ristriction. You would need a free flow one-more likely a cold air one.

Switch from maf to iat?

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:05 am
by Guest
It is possible, maybe not feasable.  You could always get a stand alone ECU and have the intake machined to house a MAT/IAT and MAP sensor.  That's spending a lot of money for a little gain though.

Switch from maf to iat?

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2003 12:24 pm
by Guest
well all the work done on my car i do my self. see the restriction is at the maf because its going from my cone filter which has a large output to a smaller tube and than back to a hose. the air isn't consistant through the hole intake system. but my car also has this speed density chip in it whats with that???? i heard its has something to do with the maf but i'm not too sure.

Switch from maf to iat?

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2003 12:42 pm
by z284pwr
I've done it....look up the '88 GT CRX intake topic, and you'll find it all in there....yes it does work, no I don't have any Engine Light Problems, no crappy running car problems either....and I did it myself...and I don't even think my car has the SD software either :rock:

Switch from maf to iat?

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2003 1:01 pm
by Guest
What type of sensor is it? A Hot wire, Carmon vortex or a vane? I wonder if you could use a sensor off of a different GM car. Katie’s GA uses a hot wire and it is 3" through the middle.

Switch from maf to iat?

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2003 1:02 pm
by Guest
The question is if it is worth it. The 2.8 really doesn’t flow that much and I bet the TB is the same size or smaller then the MAF.

Switch from maf to iat?

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2003 7:32 pm
by Canada
I don't know how the older engines are, but my OBD-II has MAF and IAT sensors......as well as MAP.....