88 IAT Disabling

Post information about intake systems. Either purchased or custom made
User avatar
Vampcrist
Registered User
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:28 pm
Location: Spokane, WA
Has thanked: 1 time
Contact:

88 IAT Disabling

Postby Vampcrist » Wed Jul 06, 2011 4:40 am

So I was wondering if anyone had a way to disable the IAT on the 88. I'm assuming that it's somewhere in with the MAF and I have that disabled but if I pull it out I get code 23 if I remember correctly. Just wondering if there is a way to jump the wires on the connector or something along those lines. Thanks.



User avatar
3X00-Modified
Administrator
Posts: 10672
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Plainfield CT
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: 88 IAT Disabling

Postby 3X00-Modified » Wed Jul 06, 2011 7:56 am

why?



User avatar
Vampcrist
Registered User
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 6:28 pm
Location: Spokane, WA
Has thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: 88 IAT Disabling

Postby Vampcrist » Fri Jul 08, 2011 5:00 pm

Because I want to be able to remove the damned MAF and as far as I can tell since the MAF is already disabled that the IAT has to be in there on that board. I want to be able to get my coldair all installed but I also don't want to look at a check engine light for something like that. That MAF is so restricting that your throwing dust in the wind with it installed and a new air filter for the coldair attached to it.



User avatar
3X00-Modified
Administrator
Posts: 10672
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Plainfield CT
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: 88 IAT Disabling

Postby 3X00-Modified » Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:29 pm

Then get an IAT for a non maf car and wire that in... its such a small sensor.



User avatar
Wanako
Registered User
Posts: 1098
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 2:29 am
Location: Torrance, CA

Re: 88 IAT Disabling

Postby Wanako » Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:08 pm

Speed Density Upgrade

Follow this. If you're planning on getting a CAI make a hole in it to fit the IAT sensor. Preferably as close as you can to the filter element so you can easily remove it and to get correct readings. You need that sensor so the ECM can do it's witchcraft and make you motor run well. and no CEL.

You'll definitely feel a bit of an improvement.



User avatar
Barry
Global Moderator
Posts: 1867
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:11 pm
Location: Hatfield Pa
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 88 IAT Disabling

Postby Barry » Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:43 pm

You will sacrifice engine performance, but all the IAT sensor is is a resistor. You can choose a temperature that you think is suitable, find the resistance of the sensor at that temp, and buy a resistor(s) and put it in the place of the sensor.



User avatar
90GTZHO
Registered User
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 11:54 am
Location: Paulden, AZ
Has thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: 88 IAT Disabling

Postby 90GTZHO » Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:32 pm



^^^^This!


Geoff
95 Base V6: Current Project; Work In Progress


Return to “Intakes”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest