Car wont run getting code 33

Have a flashing light? Gauges acting funny? Bad idle? Get your problems solved...
CorvetteBeretta
Registered User
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:28 am
Location: New West B.C. Canada
Been thanked: 1 time

Car wont run getting code 33

Postby CorvetteBeretta » Sun Jul 05, 2015 7:59 pm

So I tried to start the car today it wont run properly its stumbling and will not stay running kinda sounds like all the plug wires are backwards. Everything was put back the way it came and torqued to spec.. The only thing I'm thinking he might of gave me the wrong injectors. I don't know if a bad map sensor would cause the car to run like absolute crap.. Oh ya I'm getting code 33 any input would be great. My first plan of attack is to put the old injectors back in


Image

User avatar
1988GTU
Registered User
Posts: 2744
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:06 pm
Location: A town up north
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Car wont run getting code 33

Postby 1988GTU » Sun Jul 05, 2015 8:13 pm

Check to make sure your map vac line is plugged in correctly.


_________
Image
-------------

CorvetteBeretta
Registered User
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:28 am
Location: New West B.C. Canada
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Car wont run getting code 33

Postby CorvetteBeretta » Sun Jul 05, 2015 8:22 pm

I tried it both lines. no difference


Image

User avatar
1988GTU
Registered User
Posts: 2744
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:06 pm
Location: A town up north
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Car wont run getting code 33

Postby 1988GTU » Sun Jul 05, 2015 8:27 pm

Is your FPR shot?


_________
Image
-------------

CorvetteBeretta
Registered User
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:28 am
Location: New West B.C. Canada
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Car wont run getting code 33

Postby CorvetteBeretta » Sun Jul 05, 2015 8:41 pm

I have never changed it it worked before I did the intake manifold so it is possible the pump and filter were changed and I just did new injectors I guess I should grab a pressure tester I'm assuming if the fpr is shot I won't get enough or to much pressure? Our systems run at 60psi?


Image

User avatar
1988GTU
Registered User
Posts: 2744
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:06 pm
Location: A town up north
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Car wont run getting code 33

Postby 1988GTU » Sun Jul 05, 2015 8:50 pm

leaks raw fuel from vacuum port AT fpr.


_________
Image
-------------

CorvetteBeretta
Registered User
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:28 am
Location: New West B.C. Canada
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Car wont run getting code 33

Postby CorvetteBeretta » Sun Jul 05, 2015 8:54 pm

Ill have a look tomorrow I also put in a different egr Im going to grab a map sensor and swap my egr back in and see what happens


Image

User avatar
Money pit Beretta
Registered User
Posts: 6353
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:36 am
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Car wont run getting code 33

Postby Money pit Beretta » Mon Jul 06, 2015 6:53 pm

You kept track of the pushrods right? No mixing of intake and exhaust?


keep'em flying!

CorvetteBeretta
Registered User
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:28 am
Location: New West B.C. Canada
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Car wont run getting code 33

Postby CorvetteBeretta » Mon Jul 06, 2015 7:03 pm

I punched them in a box and labeled the front


Image

CorvetteBeretta
Registered User
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:28 am
Location: New West B.C. Canada
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Car wont run getting code 33

Postby CorvetteBeretta » Mon Jul 06, 2015 7:25 pm

I just checked specs I'm pretty sure all pushrods are equal length I put in a used fpr and map sensor and still the same


Image

CorvetteBeretta
Registered User
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:28 am
Location: New West B.C. Canada
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Car wont run getting code 33

Postby CorvetteBeretta » Mon Jul 06, 2015 9:28 pm

It sounds like the starter is bogged down Im going to try and upload a video. I put my old injectors and icm back in with no change


Image

CorvetteBeretta
Registered User
Posts: 423
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:28 am
Location: New West B.C. Canada
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Car wont run getting code 33

Postby CorvetteBeretta » Mon Jul 06, 2015 9:41 pm

So I did some research and Im a retard!! I guess the pushrods are different lengths ... Oem specs say 6" for intake and 6-3/8 for exhaust. I'm pretty positive I put them back proper considering I have tried everything I guess that is a good start looks like I'm redoing it unless it fucked up my internals


Image

User avatar
Money pit Beretta
Registered User
Posts: 6353
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:36 am
Location: Kansas
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Car wont run getting code 33

Postby Money pit Beretta » Tue Jul 07, 2015 7:27 am

Guessing that you got them in right. Unless you put them in out of order(thinking they are all the same). Still it does sound like they could be wrong. Guy did it on another site, so that is what I'm going off of.


keep'em flying!

User avatar
3X00-Modified
Administrator
Posts: 10657
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Plainfield CT
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: Car wont run getting code 33

Postby 3X00-Modified » Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:04 am

You would know if they were in wrong... they would be tapping like a SOB on the exhaust side due to excess play and the intake would probably be hung open



User avatar
1988GTU
Registered User
Posts: 2744
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:06 pm
Location: A town up north
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Car wont run getting code 33

Postby 1988GTU » Tue Jul 07, 2015 12:29 pm

Interference motor, I'd plan on pulling the heads to check for damages. Especially to the valves.


_________
Image
-------------


Return to “Diagnostic Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests