GM Parts dealer? codes?

Have a flashing light? Gauges acting funny? Bad idle? Get your problems solved...
Geoff

GM Parts dealer? codes?

Post by Geoff »

Ok...I went to a chevy dealer today to see what kind of transmission I have for my still troublesome tranny.

They took my VIN#, ran to see what kind of tranny I have...it couldnt tell them/me anything except that if I found 4 letters showing OXEX - it was an original tranny that came with the car and also that it gave me an RPO code of "MY5", that doesnt show up on any searches anywhere.

does anyone know what the hell an MY5 is?

It's not a muncie, that a HM28 or something like that and an izuzu isnt that code either. gettrag wasnt listed on the gm computer, but nobody knows...

any help?

heavywoody
Global Moderator

GM Parts dealer? codes?

Post by heavywoody »

Wow... you have the same first name as me, and I graduated from WMU 2 years ago. Crazy.

What year/model/engine do you have in your car? If it's a 2.0 or 2.2 4cyl, chances are it's an Isuzu trans. If it's a 2.3 Quad 4 cyl, it's a Getrag transmission. If it's a V6, it's the HM-282 Getrag.

I'm not sure about this, but I think the 94+ 2.2 5spds were the newer style NV550 transmissions...

Geoff
95 Z26 Turbo 3400 5spd - R&D Project
Beretta Preservation Society - Director of Acquisitions
Geoff

GM Parts dealer? codes?

Post by Geoff »

Hey, well i just moved down here from Mt. Pleasant ( went to CMU for two years)

anyway it';s a 1990 GTZ with the 2.3L Quad 4 engine. I'm 90% sure it's the original tranny.

anyway I've had ppl on here, dealers and ppl I know tell me it's one of the 3....dealers say it's a muncie/getrag, advance auto and autozone say izuzu, my best friend who owns two, says it's an izuzu... ppl on here have said muncie.