Speedo

Have a flashing light? Gauges acting funny? Bad idle? Get your problems solved...
Guest

Speedo

Postby Guest » Wed Oct 05, 2005 12:18 pm

I have a 95 beretta base.  with the 3100.  I got an instrument cluster out of a gt with the tac.  Problem is, in my car the speedo reads fast.  Does anyone know how to recalibrate this?  allangraves@sympatico.ca



User avatar
Jeff P
Registered User
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 4:38 pm
Location: JBLM, WA
Contact:

Speedo

Postby Jeff P » Thu Oct 06, 2005 6:39 am

You know, I've asked around at different shops and no one has ever been able to answer that other than for trucks.  I've even tried moving the needles, and no change.  Hope someone here has an answer. ???


-Jeff P.
Black '88 Beretta GT
Spice Red '06 GTO

Previously Owned:
'89 GT, '91 GT, '92 GTZ (12.95@105 mph), '01 Bonneville SSEi

User avatar
Obsessedw/Berettas
Registered User
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 6:15 pm
Location: St.Olaf, Minnesota
Contact:

Speedo

Postby Obsessedw/Berettas » Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:48 pm

Maybe it's because you have a 3100 and it came out of a GT (3.1 or 2.2)? Unlikely, but that's the only thing I can think of... :)



"I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else."
- C.S. Lewis

User avatar
wicked-irocz
Registered User
Posts: 1028
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 11:21 pm
Location: South Central MN

Speedo

Postby wicked-irocz » Fri Oct 07, 2005 12:04 am

If you have an OBD II car and put a cluster from an OBD I car in it you will have problems.  Im not sure if the change to a 4t60-e in 1994 changed the clusters or not.


94 Beretta Z26 57,4xx miles
3100, auto, crank windows, power locks/trunk, A/C,
To many mods to list
-intercooler :shock:

Among beretta boards
1st Turbo 4t60-e
1st Turbo 3100
1st Turbo Z26
1st 94+ Turbo

User avatar
1988GTU
Registered User
Posts: 2744
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:06 pm
Location: A town up north
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Speedo

Postby 1988GTU » Fri Oct 07, 2005 12:16 am

Wouldn't it need to have the connector (>>) changed to adapt the different cluster?

Just put in the old one or one exactly like it.  Then if you want a tach, ditch the cluster changing, add an auto meter tach, $91ish dollars.






_________
Image
-------------

User avatar
Baims_91Base
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 4:35 am
Location: West Des Moines, Iowa
Contact:

Speedo

Postby Baims_91Base » Fri Oct 07, 2005 4:18 am

I bet it'd only cost $50 tops to get a '95 V6 full cluster...plus you get the oil pressure and voltmeter gauges also. I think that's the better route.


Image
Dustin - Webmaster, BerettaSpeed.com
1991 "Base" -> BFest '03, '04, '11 - '12 Best Modified Engine Bay
1994 Base -> 65k, DGGM, INDY GFX
1988 GTU -> 300k - RIP, parts/donor car, BFest '05

User avatar
spacecadetz26
Registered User
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu May 10, 2001 9:33 am
Location: Rockford, IL
Contact:

Speedo

Postby spacecadetz26 » Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:38 pm

there are some on ebay right now  :banana


Steph
Image
94 Camaro B4C Special Service Package
00 Silverado 2500 6.0
07 WK CRD

Guest

Speedo

Postby Guest » Tue Oct 11, 2005 1:35 am

Does anyone know whether the speed sensor needs to be changed to the one taken from the donor car..and if neglecting to do this would alter the calibration?
 I am asking becauase i don't see a mention in the original post of you haveing changed to the sensor on the donor car.
 I was thinking of changeing to a sport dash as well ,because I miss the tac that my other car has.
 In the old days you had to recalibrate if you changed tire sizes -and the z's usually have larger wheels than the base model ,at least the ones I have seen.Although even the base could be had with 14-15-or 16 inch tires I think.
 But now I am not sure if it's the speedo that needs re-calibrated or if it's the speed sensor that covers that.
 Does any one know?
  This topic is of interest to me as well ,because my speedo has been off since i have owned the car.
  It read 55 miles on the odometer on a common trip I make- that on every car I have driven has read 50 miles, even though the tires on the car match the sticker on the car .
  So I hope you get an answer on the calibration thing--then we will both know.
   I hope no one thinks I tried to hi-jack this thread,but it seemed a natural fit-since me and the original poster have the same question -more or less.







User avatar
wicked-irocz
Registered User
Posts: 1028
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 11:21 pm
Location: South Central MN

Speedo

Postby wicked-irocz » Wed Oct 12, 2005 12:51 pm

no, all of the beretta tires are the same OD.  As long as both are OBD I and they both have the same trany it will work or if both are OBD II and they both have the same trany it will work.


94 Beretta Z26 57,4xx miles
3100, auto, crank windows, power locks/trunk, A/C,
To many mods to list
-intercooler :shock:

Among beretta boards
1st Turbo 4t60-e
1st Turbo 3100
1st Turbo Z26
1st 94+ Turbo


Return to “Diagnostic Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests