Page 1 of 2

3400 swap mount

Posted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:55 pm
by apay
does anyone have the build sheet for the front mount for 3400 swap

Re: 3400 swap mount

Posted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:58 pm
by Slinky
There is a thread on here somewhere I believe with it, try doing a search

Re: 3400 swap mount

Posted: Sat Oct 26, 2013 9:00 pm
by apay
i had them but domesticcrew had the build "sheets" but there sites done now

Re: 3400 swap mount

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:16 am
by 3X00-Modified
If someone gets me dimensions I'll TIG up a few of these for this site.

Re: 3400 swap mount

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:37 am
by apay
i just want the sheet with the cut outs the angles for building one i had a copy but they got lost

Re: 3400 swap mount

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 12:29 pm
by themixer
http://www.v6z24.com/jbodyforum/files/d ... ns_175.pdf

Here is the mount dimensions ! 3x00 if you make these I wouldn't mind picking one up

Re: 3400 swap mount

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 12:31 pm
by 3X00-Modified
WOW that's intricate... LOL I'll have to pick up some plate steel and try this out.

Do you have a link to the stated "cad cut file" in the directions? Might help me with actual dimensions.

Re: 3400 swap mount

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 1:39 pm
by SummitBalt08
I know Tyler would be interested in 3400 mounts for his GTU also

Re: 3400 swap mount

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 2:07 pm
by themixer
I will have a look on my laptop at home I believe it's saved

Re: 3400 swap mount

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:11 pm
by Rettax3
I built one a few years ago for my '90 turbo LG5 3.1/ LA1 3400 hybrid. The mount I built is no way that complicated, and it works perfectly. I am using a 3400 block from a '99 GA/GT, and I retained the A/C compressor and bracket from the 3.1 MPFI engine. IIRC, I had to grind-down a little of that aluminum bracket to clear the oil-pan on the 3400, and the newer blocks are also lacking a mounting-bolt hole in the front of the block by the crank pulley to support the compressor bracket, but the mount I built supports the bracket at the top like the 2.8/3.1 engines originally did, so it is fine. I built one for another board member, and I made a spare for myself. I can make more of them if people are interested.

They aren't super pretty, but you really can't see them anyway. I just don't like that other mount because if you are off by a few degrees here or a fraction of an inch there, the errors will keep multiplying, and there are so many pieces to it that there are a lot of places where errors can creep in. And IIRC it doesn't support the older-style A/C bracket at all.

Here are a couple of pics of my spare mount, the one I built for the other board member is quite a bit beefier due to his HP goals, and has a longer webbing across the top. I have complete confidence in this one though, considering that the steel it is made from is 2-3 times thicker than the frame-side mounting point in the car itself...
3X00 FtMt MkIII 1a.jpg

3X00 FtMt MkIII 2a.jpg

The newest version also has the option to be bolt-together so the top-half and the bottom-half can be adjusted in case someone wants to tweak the engine up, down, forward or backward a tiny bit. On my '90 turbo 'Retta for instance, I brought my engine up ~1/2 inch to help clear the bigger T-4 turbo parts I upgraded from the LG5's original turbo setup, without having to hack-up the car's transmission-mount bracket.

And if someone doesn't have any interest in using the older-style A/C compressor, then that tab on the bottom can just be deleted, which saves me some time building it.

If anyone wants one, just PM me, and we can discuss price -mine wouldn't cost as much as the other mount either since it just isn't as complicated to build. It would take me a few days to put one together and ship it out.

Re: 3400 swap mount

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:10 pm
by apay
those shape are the actually size jon

Re: 3400 swap mount

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:35 pm
by 3X00-Modified
Yeah I know that, I'll probably print it and measure it to see what it all is. Was just hoping for dimensions on the prints.

Re: 3400 swap mount

Posted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:12 pm
by apay
oh i get what you mean

Re: 3400 swap mount

Posted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:49 am
by 3X00-Modified
Yeah I'm a technical kind of guy I like to have numbers and not just templates :)

Re: 3400 swap mount

Posted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 11:08 pm
by Alpinestar10
jon ask rocketeer on v6 for the cad file of the mount on v6 he Should have it not sure.