building a GTZ

Want to know how to get more out of your Beretta? Or have a mod you would like to share?
zippy

building a GTZ

Post by zippy »

I want to build a GTZ to it's maximum possible without doing anything to change the car drastically (i.e. the CORBERETTA project) and sticking with the 4 cylinder engine. I am specifically talking about a '90 GTZ with a 2.3 DHOC QUAD 4/ 5 Speed manual begining with the car in a "bone stock" state. as I stated before I would know what parts to buy to beef the drivetrain to handle high horsepower if we where talking about a RWD V8 from the 1980's but I'm new to FWD and GM part codes refering to berettas. I'm looking to acheve 300+WHP. Any suggestions from anyone who as performed similar projects is greatly appreciated.

weba

building a GTZ

Post by weba »

Build the shortblock with strong parts and add turbo & standalone engine management, and you'r set.  

I fill up for $130. Also Beretta owner since 2004
rweatherford

building a GTZ

Post by rweatherford »

Turbocharged 300 HP at the wheels is not a problem.  Getting that power to the ground is a real problem.  If you ever get it locked to the ground I would say that you might have problems with transmissions and axles, but you might not.

You basically want a 92-94 Quad4 block, forged pistons, good rods, modified 086 or 753 head and HO or W41 cams.  Then you need some very large injectors and a computer to run everything.  Make sure the turbo is large enough for the task (ask turbonectics or similar vendor for sizing information) .  A good exhaust manifold and down pipe can make a difference in the power department.

The guys over at the Quadforums can help you on your way to lots of boosted fun.  I built mine from scratch.  It was one of the first turbo Quads.  Very primative compared to what can be done now.

Rex Weatherford
92 Beretta GTZ Quad4 Turbo / 5-speed (sold)
Best 1/4 ET =  13.523 @ 105.16 mph

07 Mazda 5 Black on Black (it's slow)

zippy

building a GTZ